top of page

The Four Cs: Finding Your Perfect Diamond

Updated: Aug 24, 2023

Choose the diamond that's best for you! Diamonds are graded based on the four Cs: color, clarity, cut, and carat. The color grade is based on the absence or presence of color, the clarity grade is based on the number and size of inclusions, the cut grade is based on the balance and symmetry of the diamond, and the carat grade is based on the weight of the diamond.

It's important to choose a diamond that is aesthetically pleasing to you. What Cs reflect your personal style?


Diamonds come in a variety of shades and tints. The diamond color scale ranged from D (colorless) to Z ( Yellow/Brown). Most diamonds are nearly colorless with mild tints of yellow and browns because truly colorless diamonds are incredibly hard to come by.

The color of each of the diamonds are determined by a master set of diamonds. GIA also provides certifications which help verify the authenticity of a diamond.

Not only do diamonds exhibit certain colors, they can also emit a visible light when under ultraviolet radiation. This is called fluorescence. While this does not impact the color reports, it can contribute to what a person finds aesthetically pleasing and will also be reported when GIA certified.


The clarity scale we use is by GIA. The GIA clarity scale includes 11 clarity grades that range from flawless to I3. When diamonds are formed, they are put under tremendous amounts of heat. Because of this, it is very rare to find diamonds that lack internal and external inclusions. These inclusions help gemologists also distinguish natural diamonds from the synthetic and lab created stones.

Below are some examples of what inclusions may look like based on their level on the GIA Clarity Scale.


The GIA scale ranges from excellent to poor for measuring the cut of a diamond. This report usually grades diamonds that fall under the D-Z color range. When cut and polished to the stones advantage, that can accentuate the brightness, fire, and scintillation. Brightness can be described as a combination of all the white light reflecting from the surface and interior of the diamond. Fire describes the "Flares" or colors emitted. Then, scintillation is the flashed or sparkle of light when the diamond is moved. Cut quality and symmetry also play an important role in getting the most out of a diamond. Poorly cut diamonds will not have as much sparkle and fire and can appear dull.

Carat Weight

Carat weight is the unit of measure used to weigh a diamond. One carat is equal to 0.2 grams and is divided into 100 points, so a 0.75 carat diamond is the same as a 75-point diamond. The larger the diamond, the higher the price per carat.

Found the One?

It is very important that after you have found the diamond that speaks to you that you appraise and insure it. Having it inspected by the right company goes a long way too. Consider sending it off to GIA for a report on the stone and be sure to get it engraved. The engraving will verify the stone if it is ever lost or stolen.

If you're having any insecurities about finding your own, we would be more than happy to help walk you through the process! You can learn more by stopping in store and speaking to any one of our certified gemologists.

Knowing just a little bit about a diamonds quality can go a long way in helping you choose the perfect diamond for you.

For more information you can visit or visit us at 3720 Frankfort Ave, Louisville, KY 40207.

* Information provided by Gemological Institute of America Inc.

GEMOLOGICAL INSTITUTE OF AMERICA INC. “Learn How to Buy a Diamond with the GIA Diamond Buying Guide: 4Cs of Diamond Quality by Gia.” GIA 4Cs, 22 July 2022,

35 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All


bottom of page